Oberon Illustration Awards

I made these Illustrations for the Oberon Illustration Awards. I chose to Illustrate the book ‘The Velveteen Rabbit’. It is a traditional children’s story about a child whose toy rabbit slowly comes to life over the course of his life. There is a dark undercurrent to the story when the child falls ill and all of his toys are burnt. They are watercolours, a new medium for me. I think I will try to combine it next time with dry media. I like the transparency of the washes and details. The colour is also another aspect I’ve given more thought to. The story is quite traditional and the challenge was to give it a new perspective.

About Matthew Dale

Illustrator / Artist / Printmaker based in London, graduated from RCA in Communication Art and Design.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

